APEC senior officials seek ways to cope with disaster risks

Economy, Vietnam, Vietnam Finance News
Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Hoang Van Thang addresses the event (Photo: VNA)

Nghe An (VNA) –
About 200 officials from 21 member economies of
the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum (APEC) have gathered in central Nghe
An province to seek measures to strengthen affiliation in dealing with disaster

The 11th Senior Disaster Management Officials Forum (SDMOF11) which opened on
September 21 focuses on enhancing cooperation and innovation of advanced technologies
to effectively support the effective inter-regional emergency response to “New
Normal” in the APEC economies, including landslide in coastal area, super storm
and tsunami.

Opening the two-day forum, Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Agriculture and
Rural Development Hoang Van Thang said that Vietnam is frequently suffered from
natural disasters such as storm, flood and drought. Most recently, Typhoon Doksuri
directly hit three central provinces, including Nghe An, causing heavy losses
in both human lives and property, he noted.

Typhoon Doksuri, the 10th of its kind arising in the East Sea this year, killed
nine people and damaged 193,000 houses, with total estimated losses of about
385 million USD.

Climate change that goes along with extreme weather conditions has also made
natural disaster more dangerous with stronger storms, more serious flood and
drought, he noted.

Thang said that over the past years, Vietnam has applied a number of measures
to minimise natural disaster risks, including protecting and restoring the forest
ecosystem and mangrove forests, boosting green growth and integrating natural disaster management into the
operation of various sectors and improving the community’s capacity in disaster

He held that the forum is a great chance for Vietnam to learn experience from
APEC member economies, thus enhancing Vietnam’s ability
in the field.

The official expressed his hope that the forum will agree on recommendations to
be submitted to APEC leaders, thus fostering collaboration in natural disaster
prevention and response.

Established in 1989, APEC comprises
21 economies, including Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong
(China), Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New
Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese
Taiwan, Thailand, the US, and Vietnam.-VNA


Back to Top