Vietnam chairs GMS-6, CLV-10 Summits from March 29-31

Economy, Vietnam, Vietnam Finance News
Deputy Foreign Minister Dang Dinh Quy (Source: VNA)

Hanoi (VNA) – Vietnam will organize the sixth Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS-6) Summit
and the 10th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV-10) Development Triangle Summit in
Hanoi from March 29-31.

The information was announced
by the Foreign Ministry.

The sixth Greater
Mekong Subregion (GMS-6) Summit and the 10th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV-10)
Development Triangle Summit are among the most important multilateral external
events to be hosted by Vietnam in 2018.

Deputy Foreign
Minister Dang Dinh Quy stressed at a press conference on March 15 that the
summits will feature the relations between Vietnam and its neighbouring

Themed “Leveraging
25 years of cooperation, Building an integrated, sustainable and prosperous
GMS”, the GMS-6 is expected to draw about 2,000 delegates and 150 reporters.

It aims to celebrate
the 25th founding anniversary of the GMS Programme and define cooperation
orientations to build a region of prosperity, integration and sustainable

For the first time,
a business forum will be held within the framework of the GMS-6 as an
initiative of host Vietnam, with a view to increasing dialogues between States
and businesses and forging links between regional and global enterprises.

Meanwhile, the
CLV-10 is meant to review the implementation of the Master Plan for
Socio-Economic Development of the CLV Development Triangle Area for 2010-2020
and discuss cooperation orientations in the coming time, especially seeking to
increase the trilateral economic connectivity.

GMS was established
in 1992 as an initiative of the Asian Development Bank (ADB). The GMS Programme
is the most complete cooperation programme that involves Vietnam, Laos,
Cambodia, Thailand, Myanmar, and China’s Yunnan and Guangxi provinces. Priority
fields include infrastructure development, energy, telecommunications, tourism,
trade-investment, human resources, and the environment.

Meanwhile, the CLV
Development Triangle Area was established in 1999, covering Vietnam’s Kon Tum,
Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong provinces; Laos’ Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan
provinces; and Cambodia’s Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri. In 2009,
the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s
Kratie province, and Laos’ Champasak province to the area. Its cooperation
focuses on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry,
agriculture, trade, investment and environmental protection.-VNA


Back to Top